Skip to main content

Hi everyone!

My name is Zoe and I am one of Personio’s new community champions, which means I am hoping to post regular articles around my experiences within the Personio platform and HR in general. Before I start doing that, I thought it would be best to give the community a background on myself, my route into HR and my experience. 

Whilst it may seem a bit far back to go, I’ll start with a 10-year-old Zoe who told her entire family she was going to be a lawyer when she grew up, and whilst most of them laughed, the dream stuck. Fast forward 8 years to 2018 and I am in my first year of university studying law and loving it. As we all know, things change and for me they did.

Life Takes a Turn

In February 2019, I got back to my accommodation following a lecture and had a nap (like most university students do), however when I woke up, I had awful chest pains.

After about an hour, I called 111, and not long after I was sat in my local A&E being triaged by a nurse. After taking my pulse, she seemed concerned and left the room. 

The next thing I know I am in a hospital bed having lots of blood drawn and an ECG. All signs were pointing to a heart attack, whilst my bloods ultimately showed this wasn’t the case, something was wrong with my heart, so I was discharged with an urgent cardiac referral. In the 2 weeks between my cardiology appointment and the event I felt awful, having no energy, feeling dizzy and generally unwell.

Once I had seen the cardiologist, that was all quickly explained. The mystery cardiac event had triggered a life-changing condition called PoTS and whilst I won’t go too into detail, PoTS effects every automatic function in the body but mainly your heart rate and blood pressure, so any time I am not lying flat, my heart rate is through the roof (130+ bpm), this comes with a whole bunch of unpleasant symptoms. 

Finding my way